Share an Application with Everyone on the Internet

Imagine that you've created a QuickBase application to track your new product line. You can easily share the application with your regular clients because you know their email addresses. But what about those customers you've yet to meet? How can you share your application with anyone who might be interested in what you have to offer? You can easily open application access to include anyone on the Internet. When you do so, viewers don't even need to sign into QuickBase to see your records.

The Billing Account Administrator determines whether applications within the billing account can be opened up for general internet access. If your Billing Account Administrator has set this up, you'll see the group "Everyone on the Internet" in your list of groups. You can add this group to your application exactly as you would add any other group.

Remember that the group "Everyone on the Internet" is like any other user entity in QuickBase. You can create a role for "Everyone on the Internet" and apply special limitations to it: for example, "Everyone on the Internet" can only view records, not modify or create them. Or "Everyone on the Internet" can only view your Products table, not your Vendor and Client tables.

To share your application with everyone on the internet:

  1. In the menu bar on any application page, select Users > Manage users.

  2. Click the Add User button.

  3. Click the address book icon.

  4. Choose Groups from the pulldown to the right of the Search field.

  5. From the list of groups, select Everyone on the Internet. (Click anywhere in the line where this group appears to select it.)
    Note: If you don't see this choice, that means that your Billing Account Administrator has turned off the ability to open an application to everyone on the Internet. Some administrators do this to make sure that applications can't be accessed so easily.

  6. Click OK. QuickBase inserts this group into the Share With a New User dialog.

When you click Add, QuickBase grants access to your application to anyone with Internet access.

Revoking unlimited public access

Say that you've been getting a lot of false leads and decide that a more exclusive clientele works better for your bottom line. It's easy to limit access to a select group of users again.

To revoke unlimited public access:

  1. Return to the Manage Users page.

  2. Select the checkbox to the left of Everyone on the Internet.

  3. Click Remove User, then click Delete on the confirmation dialog.

Related Topics

 

This page refers to an older version of QuickBase. Online help is now located at http://www.quickbase.com/user-assistance/default.html.

 

Return to top   

© 1999-2013 Intuit Inc. All rights reserved. Legal Notices.