Remove a User from a Billing Account

You may want to remove users from your QuickBase billing account for a number of reasons. You may have added a user by mistake, or you may want to make sure someone who has left your company no longer has access to your applications. If you simply need to ensure a user is not able to access any application in your billing account, you can use the Deny option.

Note: Some organizations may need to deactivate or delete users. Learn whether you need this option.

Learn more about:

About the Deny option

The Deny option lets you ensure that a user no longer has access to any of the applications in your billing account. Users who have access to applications in other QuickBase billing accounts will be able to continue using those applications, even after you've denied them access to your billing account.

What happens when I deny a user?

When you deny a user, QuickBase places the user on the Deny list and prevents the user from logging into any application in your billing account.

A denied user still appears in the user list on the application's Manage Users page for any application to which they've been added. You can identify denied users easily; the text on deny list appears in red after the names of all denied users. You can remove these users from your application by using the Remove User option on Manage Users page.

When should I deny a user?

Use Deny in any situation where you want to prevent a verified user from accessing applications in your billing account. For example, suppose that a vendor outside of your company is a user in one of your QuickBase applications. In the middle of the project, you decide to switch vendors. You can use Deny to make sure the first vendor is not able to access applications in your billing account

Do I pay for denied users?

Users who have been denied do not count toward your billing account's user limit.

Can I remove users from the Deny list?

Of course!  You remove a user from the Deny list from the Deny tab on the Manage Billing Account page. The user will then be able to use applications in your account, according to his or her permissions. Read more about granting a denied user access again.

Using the Deny tab

The Deny tab shows you all users who are on the Deny list; these users have been denied access to all applications in your account. On this tab, you can add users to the Deny list and grant a denied user access again.  You can search for specific denied users by first name, last name, user name, or email address, and use the Show dropdown to filter the list by status.  The Show dropdown also allows you to filter by company membership if your company and associated email domains have been registered with QuickBase. (Read more about QuickBase Enterprise Edition. )

Your initial view of the Deny tab will vary, depending on the number of denied users in your account.

If you don't have a large number of denied users in your account, you'll see an unfiltered view of the Deny tab, as shown below:

denylist.png

You can click Customize this list to bring you to the pre-filter page (described below). Use the pre-filter page if you want to see a list of specific users based on email addresses, or if you want to apply two filters to the Deny list, such as status and company membership. You can apply one filter on the pre-filter page, and the other when viewing the Deny list.

If you do have a large number of denied users in your account, you'll see the pre-filter page when you open the Deny tab, allowing you to focus on one subset of users. The pre-filter page is shown below:

deny_filter.png

On the pre-filter page, you can choose to see the following:

When you choose a filter and click Show Users, you'll see a filtered view of the Deny tab.  You then can apply a second filter using the Show dropdown, if needed.

Denying a user access to applications in your billing account

You can use either the Deny tab or the Users with Access tab to add users to the Deny list.

Note that you cannot Deny a user who has account management permissions.

To deny users from the User with Access tab:

  1. On your My QuickBase page, click Manage my billing account, and then click the Users with Access tab.

    If you have a small number of users, the list of users appears. Otherwise, you see a pre-filter page, allowing you to focus on one subset of your users. Select the filter criteria and click Show Users.  The list of users appears.  

  2. Locate the user(s) you want to add to the Deny list.

    You can search for specific users by first name, last name, user name, or email address, and use the Show dropdown to filter the list by status or company membership (if you are using QuickBase Enterprise Edition). If you want to apply an additional filter, click Customize this list to open the pre-filter page.

  3. Select the checkbox next to each user that you want to deny, and then click Add to Deny List.

  4. Specify whether you want to remove these users from Groups in the confirmation dialog that opens, and then click Add to Deny List. A message appears, indicating how many users were added to the Deny list.

To deny a user from the Deny tab:

  1. On your My QuickBase page, click Manage my billing account, and then click the Deny tab.  

    If you have a small number of users on the Deny list, the list of denied users appears when you open the Deny tab.  Otherwise, the pre-filter page opens first.  Select your filter criteria and click Show Users to view the list of denied users.

  2. Click Add Users to Deny List.

  3. Enter the users in the text field in the Add Users to Deny List dialog box and click Add.  You can also select users from the Address Book by clicking the Address Book button address_book_button.png. When you are finished adding users from the Address Book, click OK to return to the Add Users to Deny List dialog, and then click Add. A message appears, indicating how many users were added to the Deny list.

Granting a "denied" user access again

Say you've re-hired that consultant to help you with your new project. You can easily remove her from the Deny list and give her access to your account's applications again.

To grant denied users access again:

  1. On your My QuickBase page, click Manage my billing account, and then click the Deny tab.

    If you have a small number of users on the Deny list, the list of denied users appears when you open the Deny tab. Otherwise, you see a pre-filter page before the list of users appears, allowing you to focus on one subset of your users. Select the filter criteria and click Show Users.  The list of denied users appears.  

  2. Locate the users you want to reinstate in the Deny list.

    You can search for specific denied users by first name, last name, user name, or email address, and use the Show dropdown to filter the list by status or company membership (if you are using QuickBase Enterprise Edition). If you want to apply an additional filter, click Customize this list to open the pre-filter page.

  3. Select the checkbox next to the users you want to reinstate, and then click Remove from Deny List.

  4. Click Remove in the confirmation dialog that opens.

    A message appears, indicating how many users were removed from the Deny list.

Related Topics:

 

This page refers to an older version of QuickBase. Online help is now located at http://www.quickbase.com/user-assistance/default.html.

 

Return to top   

© 1999-2013 Intuit Inc. All rights reserved. Legal Notices.