Assign Group's Records Permissions

You may want a user or group of users to only view and edit those records created by someone in their own group. For example, maybe a department manager should edit only those records created by members of her own department. You can impose such a restriction using the "Group's Records" setting within roles.

Note: "Group's Records" permissions is a special setting within Roles that limits group members to seeing and/or editing only those records a member of their own group has created. If you want to organize users in groups so you can control permissions that do not hinge on who created certain records, you shouldn't be reading this topic. To set up permissions using groups, you create a group, then share your application with that group, assigning to the group whatever role grants the desired access. If an existing role doesn't fit the bill, create a new role. (Read more about this process in the What is a Group? topic.)

Assigning "Group's Records" permissions requires some preliminary setup. Before following the steps below, you'll need to create a group containing all members of the department (if it doesn't already exist). Next, you'd follow the steps below to configure access permissions for the role the department manager (or the entire group, depending upon whose access you want to control) uses to access the application. When doing so, you'd specify a Group's Records level of access for Modify permissions (detailed instructions below). The last step is to specify the target group whose records this setting affects.

To assign Group's Records permissions:

  1. In the menu bar on any application page, select Customize > Roles.

  2. Do one of the following:

  3. Within the Permissions tab, locate the name of the table to which you want to control access.

  4. From the dropdowns in the View and/or Modify columns (as appropriate), select Group's Records. Repeat for each table you want to control access to.

  5. From the menu bar, select Users > Manage users.

  6. Assign users to the role you created or edited in the steps above by choosing the user's role using the dropdowns in the Role column.

  7. Hover over a user's name and click the link to set a Target Group. Only users in the role you edited have this link, which appears only as a result of a Group's Records selection you made in Step 4. The Select a Group dialog opens.

  8. Select the group whose records the user can access and click Done.

Related Topics

 

This page refers to an older version of QuickBase. Online help is now located at http://www.quickbase.com/user-assistance/default.html.

 

Return to top   

© 1999-2013 Intuit Inc. All rights reserved. Legal Notices.