Delete Multiple Records

Old outdated records getting you down? If it's time to do some housecleaning, you may want to whittle down your application tables by deleting many records at once. To do so, first create a report that contains only the records you want to delete and then tell QuickBase to give them the axe.

Note: The word "record" refers to the records in a table, but the term you use in your application may be different (for example, "contact," "task," or "vendor"). This means that the text in the instructions below may be slightly different from what you see.

Caution: Once a record is deleted, you cannot retrieve the data it contains.

 

To delete all the records in a report:

  1. Create (or open) a table report that contains only the records you want to delete.

  2. Click More, then select Delete these records.

    To see the results of this action, you must refresh or reload the report in your browser window.

 

To delete selected records in a report:

  1. Display a table report that contains records that you want to delete, such as the List All report.

  2. Click Grid Edit.

    The table may not look that different, but you can now edit the entire table. You can change any value directly from this report. This feature is a handy way to make changes to several records at once or to add or remove several records at once. (Read more about Grid Edit.)

  3. Click the leftmost table cell and drag up or down to select records that you want to delete.

    QuickBase outlines selected records in a box.

    Note: If QuickBase doesn't let you select any records, you're not in the Grid Edit mode.

    Click Grid Edit.

  4. Right-click the selected records, then click Cut.

    The boxed in records are marked for deletion. Once you've marked a record or set of records for deletion, you can mark other records elsewhere in the list.

  5. Delete additional records, if desired.

    You can mark other records for deletion before you save your changes. Repeat step 3 and 4 for each record or group of records you want to delete.

  6. When you’ve marked all the records you want to delete, click Apply Changes.

FAQ - I've marked records for deletion, but I've changed my mind. How do I cancel?

To cancel your deletions before saving complete one of the following tasks:

How do I archive old records?

Looking for a way to archive old records? Use the Import from Table feature to copy records to an archive application. Then return to the source application and delete them.

 

Related Topics:

 

Return to top   

© 1999-2014   Intuit Inc.  All rights reserved.  Legal Notices.