Delete a Table

When you delete a table, you permanently remove the table and its contents.

Note: You cannot recover the data in a table once it has been deleted. To remove a table from an application without deleting it, move it to a new application, instead.

Before you delete a table

Before you delete a table, you may want to review its contents to make sure you don't delete valuable information. Even if you select the List All report to view all information in a report, that approach isn't foolproof, because someone may have edited this report, inadvertently. The best way to ensure that you can view absolutely every record in a table is to display a report of the table you want to delete, without customized settings.

To display a report without customized settings:
  1. Open a table from the Table bar, click SETTINGS, then click above Reports & charts.

    The report builder opens.

  2. Make no changes to the settings, then click Display.
    Note: If the table is related to other tables, delete all relationships before you delete the table. If you don't delete all relationships, you can leave orphaned lookup and reference fields behind in the remaining tables. If you have any formula fields that refer to the relationship's lookup fields, they won't work after you delete the relationship.

To delete a table:
  1. From the My Apps page, open the application that contains the table you want to delete.

  2. From the app home page, click SETTINGS, then click Tables.

  3. Locate the table you want to delete, then select the checkbox to its left.

  4. Click the delete icon () in the rightmost column of the table.

  5. In the dialog that displays, type YES to confirm the deletion, then click Delete.

 

Related Topic:

 

Return to top   

© 1999-2014   Intuit Inc.  All rights reserved.  Legal Notices.